IOS 8 settings reset, doesn’t just reset settings
Recently several IOS 8 users have been reporting that using the ‘Reset All Settings’ option (despite stating that ‘No data or media will be deleted’) permanently deletes data in the users iCloud.
MacRumors has reported that the bug seems to affect mostly documents from iWork apps, such as Numbers, Keynote and Pages. That being the case this is solely based on user comments and testing performed by MacRumors. Below is a handful of these user comments:
“HELP,” one user wrote. “Because iOS 8 was so sluggish on my iPad 3 I reset all settings (No data or media will be deleted) and sped it up BUT deleted my iWork data! Then promptly synced and deleted it in iCloud.”
“I just had this happen to me,” another user wrote on the forum. “I had a bit of weird behaviour on my iPad, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to just reset all settings. For the hell of it, I did it on my iPhone as well. ALL DOCUMENTS LOST! How on earth does resetting settings (with a clear notice that data will not be lost) wipe out iCloud drive? It’s embarassing.”
After doing some testing of there own MacRumors went on to say:
In our own testing, using “Reset All Settings” deleted all iWork documents stored in iCloud Drive on the iPhone and on iCloud.com. After allowing time for syncing to a Mac running OS X Yosemite, all of the documents disappeared from that machine as well. Preview and TextEdit documents, which cannot be accessed on the iPhone, remained untouched on the Mac.
Until there is an official word from apple it is advised that all IOS 8 users do not perform a settings reset and even after this to always store a local backup of data (not in a cloud), in both a place where you know its safe and secure.